If you love, and have a gift for caring for kids, then starting a daycare in your home may seem like a great way to earn a decent living, working right from home doing what you love. However, in order to make sure you and your business are on the up and up, there are a few factors you need to consider, including whether or not you need to be officially licensed under Michigan law. So if you are looking to pursue your passion of opening a daycare center, and want to make sure you’re going about it the right way, here is a little information covering what you need to know about starting a daycare in your home.
The first thing you need to do, before you start picking out snack menus and designating napping areas, is determine if you need a license. The short answer is, most likely. In order to be exempt from needing a license, you would need to be considered a baby-sitter, making less than a total of $600 per year. If however, you provide childcare for more than four total weeks annually, and accept compensation of more than $600 per child, per year, then you must have a license in accordance with Michigan Law MCL 722.111.
There are two different types of licenses you can receive, depending on the number of children in your care. If you plan to run a daycare center that accommodates less than six children, you will need to acquire your license as a “family child care home.” However, for daycare centers caring for seven to 12 children, a “group child care home” license must be acquired. Lastly, contrary to what some people may tell you, just because you accept cash does not mean you are exempt from the law. No matter what form of payment you accept, you must be licensed, if you fall under the above criteria. Not having a license and/or not paying due taxes on wages earned can get you into more trouble than you want.
For more information about starting a daycare in your home, or about any of the many other facility and safety expectations that are required of you as a child care provider, it’s best to consult with a qualified attorney, like the experts at Harris Law One of the most important things you can do to ensure your success and credibility is to make sure you are always following the law, and having an attorney on your side will not only ensure your legal compliance, but also validate your credentials and show your clients that you are serious about taking the best possible care of their beloved children. If you’re in need of a legal consultation of any kinds, including business formation and appropriate state licensing, call Harris Law today at 231.347.4444 or fill out the free consultation form in the sidebar to schedule your free personal consultation.