New Year’s always brings new laws to the State of Michigan. Harris Law has put together a list of the new laws that will be going into effect this year.
- Hard copies of proof of insurance will no longer be needed when drivers are pulled over. Drivers will now be permitted to show proof electronically on their cell phone or other device. The new law which is now in effect, will make it easier for drivers to show proof of insurance without having to carry paper copies in their glove box.
- There is now a ban on powder products that when mixed with water, creates alcohol such gin, vodka, rum or other alcoholic drinks.
- A revised rule makes it easier for veterans and others with service animals, in most cases, to dine in at restaurants or enter other public places without being turned away. ID’s and name tags will be given by the state police and service animals will be assigned special vests that identify them as service animals. Violations will be given to anyone falsely representing an animal as a service dog. Violations should be reported to law enforcement agencies. Service dogs are also exempt from licensing fees. Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder is now listed as a disability that allows for a service dog.
- Tax-exempt accounts will now be able to be used for anyone who is caring for a disabled person. Accounts can be used to take care of long-term expense needs such as housing and transportation.
- Michigan’s 529 college savings plan limits will increase from $235,000 to $500,000.
- Local health departments will no longer need to inspect establishments that serve what is considered “low-risk” foods like precooked hotdogs, popcorn and ice cream. Instead, health officials can offer vendors an in-office consultation and operational review.
- A new alert system similar to the Amber Alert will go into effect for anyone who is suspected of injuring or killing a police officer. The Blue Alerts will notify police and public in such cases.
- Another new law will make it harder for police to seize people’s property when they are suspected of a crime. Police must adhere to new reporting requirements, and must meet a higher level of evidence in a civil court before seizing assets that are suspected of being tied to a crime.
- Minimum wage laws increased the wage to $8.50/hour early this year but wages can be as low as $4.25/hour with regards to newly-employed youth between 16 and 19 years old who can be on a 90 day probationary period. Anyone 17 and under can still receive the former minimum wage of $7.25/hour. For tipped employees, wages must equal $8.50/hour including tips.
Harris Law, PLLC, attorneys in Gaylord MI, can answer any questions you might have regarding these new laws and how they might affect you. The attorneys at Harris Law handle all legal matters pertaining to family law, criminal law, probate law, including preparation of wills, simple trusts, complex trust, and special needs trusts, as well as guardianships, conservatorships, and the administration of probating estates following a decedent’s death, and landlord/tenant law.