In most cases, misdemeanor convictions in Michigan bring with them jail time of not more than a year however, this is not always the case. For example, negligent homicide is one of the few exceptions to this rule. Convictions of negligent homicide, despite the fact that it is only a misdemeanor charge, can bring with it a prison sentence of up to 2 years.
The Michigan, the charge of Negligent Homicide reads as follow:
Any person who, by the operation of any vehicle upon any highway or upon any other property, public or private, at an immoderate rate of speed or in a careless, reckless or negligent manner, but not willfully or wantonly, shall cause the death of another, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor, punishable by imprisonment in the state prison not more than 2 years or by a fine of not more than $2,000.00, or by both such fine and imprisonment.
Negligent Homicide Attorney Gaylord MI
Being convicted of negligent homicide can impact the rest of your life. While this charge may only be a misdemeanor charge, it brings with it serious charges. Anytime a death is involved, dealing with the laws and your rights can be confusing. Trying to deal with these types of charges on your own is not advised. An attorney who is well-versed in this type of law, will be able to assist you in understanding your rights and the laws surrounding these charges in Michigan.