An assault or battery on an individual’s spouse or former spouse, an individual with whom he or she has or has had a dating relationship, an individual with whom he or she has had a child in common, or a resident or former resident of his or her household, is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment for not more than 93 days or a fine of not more than $500.00, or both.
In Michigan, domestic violence is defined as an assault or an assault and battery by a spouse, former spouse, person who has or is currently residing in the same household, has a child in common with or who has or is in a dating relationship with.
If you are convicted of a domestic assault in Michigan, penalties according to the Michigan Penal Code include:
- 1st conviction – misdemeanor – Up to 93 days in jail and or a $500 fine.
- 2nd conviction – misdemeanor – Up to 1 year in jail and or a $1,000 fine.
- 3+ convictions -felony – Up to 2 years in prison and or a $2,500 fine.
Domestic violence convictions can impact your life. Ensuring you get the best representation in regard to your specific case is important. Harris Law is a criminal lawyer in Gaylord MI.