A recent bill sent to Governor Snyder was vetoed over concern that it may inadvertently put weapons in the hands of those with PPO’s. A PPO or Personal Protection Order is a court order which is used to prevent threats or violence against you by a person. According to Governor Rick Snyder, Senate Bill 789 had a number of reforms he approved of however, others he believed would be more harmful than helpful with regard to concealed weapons laws in Michigan.
The portion of Bill 789 which led to his decision to veto was that relating to issuance. Currently, under Michigan Law, no person with a Personal Protection Order against them may carry a concealed weapon. Governor Snyder said that the bill would have amended this restriction and “may increase the risks faced by victims.”
True or simply perceived as truth, Bill 789 would have made a number of additional changes to Michigan concealed weapons laws including eliminating the 83 county boards who currently issue concealed pistol licenses and putting it in the hands of the county clerks and Michigan State Police instead. Further, changes would have reduced the cost of filing in Michigan as well.
Each state in the U.S. has different laws relating to concealed carry permits. For this reason, it is important that you are aware of the laws relating to your state specifically before carrying your concealed pistol.
- Permits issued only to residents of Michigan
- They are issued by your county gun board and the MSP
- Information regarding applications to carry can be found at your local sheriff department, local police and county clerks
- After filling out a CCW application applicants must file it with their local county clerk along with a certificate of completion of the pistol safety training course and a photo (passport quality)
- You will be required to pay a fee of $105 to file at the time you file
- You will be required to have your fingerprints taken which will then be forwarded to the Michigan State Police
- Last, your county gun board will issue or deny your application within 45 days
In Michigan, you are required to meet all the following conditions:
- Must be a U.S. citizen or legal immigrant
- Be at least 21
- Be a resident of Michigan for at least 6 months prior to application * Note: The 6-month residency requirement may be waived by the concealed pistol licensing board for new residents licensed by another state.
- Successfully completed safety training course
- Must not be on conditional bond release which prohibits possession
- Must not be subject to involuntary hospitalization or legally incapacitated or guilty by reason of insanity for any charge
- Must not be subject to any PPO
- Must not be prohibited to possess or transport or purchase or carry under Michigan law.
- Not a convicted felon
- Not dishonorably discharged from the U.S. military
- No specific misdemeanor convictions in the last 8 years including but not limited to reckless discharge of a firearm
- No specific misdemeanors in the last 3 years including but not limited to operating under the influence
- Must not be found guilty and found mentally ill of any crime
- Must not have be involuntarily committed
- Must not have been diagnosed of mental illness at time the application is made
- Cannot be under court order of legal incapacity
- In addition to several other federal requirements
Further information regarding these and all other requirements can be found here.
If you have questions about these or other issues relating to PPO’s or concealed carry in Michigan, Harris Law can help. Call us 231.347.4444.