Getting your license back may not be difficult, but it is never a guarantee. Once you have this privilege taken away from you, there are a number of steps you will need to take before you can have it reinstated. Not having a license can be difficult to cope with, especially in Northern Michigan where public transportation is often unavailable or in other areas, far from convenient. Having to ride a bus to work in small towns like Grayling or Kalkaska will require that you get up earlier, leave earlier and plan further in advance to complete otherwise mundane tasks associated with everyday life. From going to the store to getting to work, losing your license can cause more than a little grief. Once you have completed the judgment required by the courts in your case, you are likely going to want to get your license reinstated quickly however, before you do, there are some things you should consider.
Part of getting your license back after having it suspended relates directly to the reason it was suspended in the first place. For example, if you had your license suspended in Michigan because of drunken driving convictions, you will be required to not only complete the time required but in many cases exceed it before the Drivers Assessment and Appeal Division will approve your request for reinstatement.
Under Michigan Law, charges including OWVI, OWI and OWPD as well as operating under the influence under the age of 21 may all lead to drivers’ license suspensions in Michigan. In fact, according to the State of Michigan (Michigan.gov),first convictions will lead to a mandatory 6 month driver license suspension (driver may be eligible for a restricted license after serving 30 days of the suspension). More serious convictions can lead to much longer suspensions as well as participation and completion of 1 or more rehabilitation programs including alcohol treatment or a self-help program and jail time and in some cases, revocation or denial.
The first step to getting your license back in cases such as these is requesting a hearing with the Driver Assessment and Appeal Division (DAAD). You will be required to produce proof of completion of your court mandated rehabilitation programs as well as proof of your sobriety.
In addition, you will also be required to:
- Pay reinstatement fees of $125.00 if your license was restricted, revoked or suspended
- Pay a Driver Responsibility Fee of $1,000 for 2 consecutive years for a DWI conviction
- Pay a Driver Responsibility Fee of $500 for 2 consecutive years for convictions for driving while impaired.
*note: Driver Responsibility Fees in Michigan are changing. You can learn more about them in our recent article here.
Having an driver’s license restoration attorney to assist you during this process is important aspect of getting your license reinstated. We can help you understand what is required of you and help to ensure a better outcome in your case. If you lost your license and would like to try to get it restored, we invite you to contact us today for a free consultation for services. Call The Law Offices of Daniel J. Harris, P.C. at 231.347.4444