Owning a firearm is a constitutionally protected privilege to law abiding citizens of the U.S. however, with this privilege also comes responsibility. From legal ownership to concealed permits to carry and additional issues such as obtaining a firearm from a deceased family member, gun owners are expected to not only know the rules but follow them as well.
In Michigan, state laws regulate the sale, possession and use of firearms however, laws surrounding guns permits, fees and other aspects of gun ownership may also vary from county to county as well.
In Otsego County, gun ownership and registration information is located on the county government website. It includes rules regarding ownership, registration, permit purchase, and conceal carry permits in addition to other pertinent information. Below are a few of the most common questions regarding gun ownership and permits in Otsego County to help you become more informed.
1. What Do I Need To Have/Do to Own and Use a Firearm Legally in Otsego County?
• You must be at least 18 years old to own or use a firearm however, if you are purchasing a firearm from a dealer, you must be 21
• You must not have ever been convicted of a felony
• You may not have an pending criminal cases
• You must not have any court orders preventing you from purchasing or owning a firearm
• You must have a valid picture id with your current address
2. What are the rules regarding purchasing permits and will it cost money?
• You will have to pay a $5 notary fee to obtain a Handgun Purchase Permit
• You will need a valid picture id with you
• Must fill out the Handgun Purchase Permit
• Pass a background check
• Wait for 30 days to obtain your handgun
3. How long do I have to register my gun?
• You have 10 days to register your handgun once you wait the required 30 days to purchase it. If you do not use your purchase permit within 30 days, you must return it to the Sheriff’s Office for cancellation
• Note: If you fail to return within 10 days of purchasing your firearm to register it, you may be subject to a civil infraction ticket and a fine of up to $250
4. How do I register my gun?
• You may register you gun in two ways which include hand carrying the Agency copy and the MSP copy to the Sheriff’s Office anytime, by mailing both copies first class to the Sheriff within 10 days of purchase
5. If I have a valid Conceal Piston License (CPL), do I have to obtain a purchase permit before I purchase a handgun?
• No, If you have a CPL, you do not need to obtain a purchase permit, instead a RI-60 Pistol Sale Record will be issued
6. How do I register my gun if I already had a CPL when I purchased it?
• You must submit a competed RI-60 Pistol Sale Record by hand carrying it and the Agency copy and MSP copy to the Sheriff’s Office within 10 days of purchase or by first class mail within 10 days
In the case of questions 5 and 6, you are required to possess the Purchasers copy and the in the second case, the RI-60 Pistol Sale Record and the Purchasers copy for 30 days after purchase. You are also encouraged to keep a copy of the Purchasers copy for at least 6 months.
7. What if I don’t have a concealed weapon but I need to bring it with me out of my home?
• If you are a hunter you may transport your weapon only to and from the target shooting or hunting area and only if you possess a valid hunting license for Michigan or are a member of the shooting area facilities to which you are traveling
• If you are getting your weapon cleaned or repaired you may transport it only between these places
• If you are moving/relocating, only between the residences or places of business
• To your local police agency within 10 days of purchase although it is not longer necessary to bring it with you to register
• It must only be transported in a unloaded, in a locked case and in the trunk of your vehicle
8. A family member died and left me their gun, what do I do?
• You will need to bring the gun unloaded and in a locked case to the Sheriff’s Department
• You must have a copy of the death certificate
• You must be qualified to be a gun owner in Otsego County. If you are, you will be able to register the gun in your name
Guns are only as safe as their owners. Own your gun responsibly and keep our county safe.
Harris Law is an attorney Gaylord MI. If you are looking for an attorney in Gaylord MI, contact Harris Law at 231.347.4444 to find out how we can help you.