Divorce laws vary from state to state. Michigan is what is called a no-fault divorce state. Much like no-fault insurance, no-fault divorces do not seek fault however, if there is a dispute in certain aspects of your Michigan divorce, fault may become a factor. To dissolve a marriage and get a divorce in Michigan, there has to have been a “breakdown of the marriage relationship to the extent that the objects of matrimony have been destroyed and there remains no reasonable likelihood that the marriage can be preserved.” If it is determined by the court that this is true, a divorce will be granted.
In order to file for divorce in Michigan, state law requires that the person who is filing the petition must have been a resident of the state for at least 180 days immediately before filing to do so. In addition, you are also required to have been a resident of the county for which you are filing for 10 days as well.
While many just want it to be over, it is important to remember that divorces do not happen overnight. Some divorces may take only 60 days however, issues surrounding your case and circumstances may lengthen the process far longer.
While facing a divorce can be a painful and stressful time, it is important to understand that to best assist you, you need to be 100% honest with your attorney. For this reason, it is important to hire an attorney who knows the law and cares about your feelings and that you are comfortable with. We care about your feelings and we can help you.
Divorce Attorney Grayling MI
If you live in Grayling MI and are looking for skilled divorce lawyers Grayling MI, contact The Law Offices of Daniel J. Harris, P.C., we can help you.